Austria Wien is a two-time winner of the Mitropa Cup.

After the end of the First World War, the idea of holding a Europe-wide club competition emerged in Central Europe. In the summer of 1927, on the initiative of Hugo Meisl, who attended the founding meeting of the Vienna Cricketers in 1910 and was a board member of the Vienna Amateur Sports Club in 1911, this was finally introduced in Venice under the name Mitropacup. The forerunner of today's Champions League was born.

The Mitropacup was held until 1939, before the end of the competition due to the Second World War and the rise of National Socialism. Austria Wien won the Mitropa Cup twice, making it the shared record winner.

European Cup Final: European Cup Winners' Cup: 1978

European Cup semifinal

  • European Cup Winners' Cup: 1979
  • European Cup Winners' Cup: 1983

European Cup Quarter-Finals

  • European Cup Winners' Cup: 1961
  • European Cup of the national champions: 1985
  • UEFA Cup: 1984, 2005

UEFA Champions League group stage: 2013

European Cup Final

1978: European Cup Winners' Cup

European Cup semifinal

1979: European Cup of Champions
1983: European Cup Winners' Cup

European Cup quarterfinal

1961: European Cup Winners' Cup

1985: European Cup of Champions

1984 & 2005: UEFA Cup

Gruppenphase der UEFA Champions League

UEFA Champions League group stage


Mitropacup champions from 1927 to 1939

FK Austria Wien

1933, 1936


Sparta Prag

1927, 1935


Ferencvaros Budapest

1928, 1397


Ujpest FC

1929, 1939


FC Bologna

1932, 1934


First Vienna FC 1894



Slavia Prag



SK Rapid